BLACKDOCTOR.ORG and The George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health announce the 4th Annual Top Blacks in Healthcare Awards gala honorees


Chicago, IL ( — (BDO), the leading online health destination for African Americans, and The George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health announce the highly-anticipated list of distinguished honorees for the 4th Annual Top Blacks in Healthcare Awards Gala. This celebration of Black excellence will take place on Thursday, April 27, 2017 from 6:00 to 9:00 p.m. at the Park Hyatt Hotel in Washington DC.

The awards gala, hosted by radio and television legend Donnie Simpson, will honor 16 individuals who have made outstanding contributions to medicine and health. These highly esteemed and accomplished individuals not only maintain a demanding work/life balance, but they are also progressively moving their communities forward.

“These individuals have reached the highest levels in their careers, despite the challenges, and is honored to celebrate their success. Their trailblazing work ensures that everyone has access to quality healthcare,” said Reggie Ware, President and CEO of

Dr. Freda Lewis-Hall, Executive VP & Chief Medical Officer of Pfizer, will deliver the 2017 keynote address. The 2017 honorees were identified and selected by previous Top Blacks in Healthcare award recipients as well as key individuals from partner organizations such as the National Medical Association, The George Washington University and the American Hospital Association. salutes this extraordinary list of Black healthcare professionals named as the “ Top Blacks in Healthcare” 2017 award recipients:

  • Kedrick D. Adkins Jr.; Chief Financial Officer, Mayo Clinic

  • Donna R. Cryer, JD; President & CEO, Global Liver Institute

  • Adaeze Enekwechi, PhD, M.P.P.; Associate Director for Health Programs, White House Office of Management & Budget, Appointee for President Barack Obama

  • Thomas A. Farrington; Founder & President, Prostate Health Education Network

  • Brian A. Hawkins; Director, Washington D.C. VA Medical Center

  • Yolanda Haywood, M.D.; Associate Dean for Diversity, Inclusion & Student Affairs, The George Washington University School of Medicine & Health Sciences

  • Michael A. Kelly; Senior Vice President Global Business Services, Amgen

  • Honorable Robin L. Kelly; Congresswoman, Illinois’ 2nd District

  • Evelyn L. Lewis, MD, MA, FAAFP, DABDA; CMO Warrior Centric Health LLC, CMA, ReX LLC and Immediate Past President of the American Academy Family Physician Foundation

  • Freda Lewis-Hall, MD, DFAPA; Executive VP & Chief Medical Officer, Pfizer

  • Kimberly Banks MacKay; Head, U.S. Legal and Compliance, Novartis Business Services

  • Veronica T. Mallett, M.D., MMM; Senior Vice President for Health Affairs and Dean, School of Medicine, Meharry Medical College

  • Joseph Melancon, MD; Chief of The GW Transplant Institute and Division of Transplant Surgery

  • Desiree Ralls-Morrison; Senior VP, General Counsel & Secretary, Boehringer Ingelheim U.S.

  • MajGen Leonard M. Randolph Jr. M.D.; USAF (Ret.); Board Chairman, Cincinnati YMCA; Board Vice Chairman, Mercy Health (Cincinnati); Former Deputy Surgeon General-USAF; Former Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Health Plan Administration

  • Jonathan Woodson, M.D.; Former Asst. Secretary of Defense for Health Affairs, US Defense Dept. Current Professor of Surgery, Boston University

Award recipients will be featured on the website, its Facebook page – with more than 1.5 million followers – and other related media. Currently, has a total monthly audience reach of more than 40 million visitors.

Executive Editor, Sandria Washington, stated, “Today, more than ever, we must tap into our personal and collective power to create the changes we need in healthcare and beyond. Celebrating our honorees and sharing their incredible accomplishments will inspire our readers to keep pushing toward their own personal greatness.”

Sponsors for 2017 are Pfizer, Amgen, Novartis, Gilead and Otsuka. For sponsorship and ticket information, contact Candace Brandon, or at 312-222-1205.