Interim Superintendent Mamie J. Perkins appoints blue ribbon commisson on equity, achievement


Interim Superintendent Mamie J. Perkins recently announced the names of 21 people who will serve on Anne Arundel County Public Schools’ Blue Ribbon Commission on Equity and Achievement to examine issues related to achievement and discipline gaps and make recommendations to narrow disparities that exist among student groups.

“As I looked to put this commission together, I wanted people with experience in dealing with the many issues that surround achievement, opportunity, and discipline gaps both inside and outside of our school system,” Mrs. Perkins said. “I believe that experience is critically important because the more lenses through which we can view these issues, the more strides we can make in addressing what is the single biggest challenge facing our school system today. I am incredibly grateful that these individuals have chosen to invest their time investing in the future of our children.”

Commission members are:

Rev. Carletta Allen, pastor of Asbury United Methodist Church in Annapolis

Anthony Alston, Executive Director of Equity and Accelerated Student Achievement, AACPS

Betty Collins, Director of Instructional Leadership Support, Montgomery County Public Schools

Dr. Virginia Dolan, Coordinator of Behavioral Supports & Interventions, AACPS

Mike Durso, retired principal and current Board of Education member, Montgomery County Public Schools

Irma Holland, Annapolis resident, Director of Clinical Education at Anne Arundel Medical Center, and original signer of the Office for Civil Rights complaint alleging disparate treatment of African-American students by AACPS

Monique Jackson, Director, Office of Continuous School Improvement, AACPS

Daryl Jones, Anne Arundel County Councilman, District 1

Dr. Kathryn Kubic, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction and former Executive Director of the Instructional Data Division, AACPS

Dr. Dawn Lindsay, President, Anne Arundel Community College

Helen Mateosky, Principal, Hillsmere Elementary School

Enrique Melendez, former member, Board of Education of Anne Arundel County

Dr. Elizabeth M. “Betty” Morgan, former superintendent, Washington County Public Schools; 2010 National Superintendent of the Year; and former executive director of GradNation, a dropout prevention program run by America’s Promise Alliance

Dr. Yvette Mozie-Ross, Assistant Provost, University of Maryland Baltimore County

Janine Robinson, Regional Assistant Superintendent, AACPS

Jack Smith, former superintendent, Calvert County Public Schools; 2013 Maryland Superintendent of the Year; and current Chief Academic Officer, Maryland State Department of Education

Pete Smith, former Anne Arundel County Councilman, District 1

Mary Tillar, Assistant Superintendent for Advanced Studies and Programs and former Executive Director of Special Education, AACPS

Jim Todd, Principal, Old Mill High School

Teresa Tudor, Senior Manager of School and Family Partnerships, AACPS

Solon Webb, member, Board of Education of Anne Arundel County

In addition, UMBC President Dr. Freeman A. Hrabowski III and Mrs. Perkins have agreed to serve as informal advisers to the commission.

“This is a very talented and diverse group of individuals who represent a broad array of areas, and I believe they will lend a great deal to the discussion of how to move our school system forward and create better outcomes for all of our children,” Mrs. Perkins said.

The commission will meet at least four times this school year, with the first meeting to occur in mid-September on a date to be determined.