Delegate Adrienne Jones receives Grasmick Award


— On Tuesday, October 31, 2017, Maryland Family Network honored Delegate Adrienne A. Jones (District 10, Baltimore County) with the Dr. Nancy S. Grasmick Leadership Award in Early Care and Education.

During her distinguished career in the House of Delegates, where she serves as Speaker Pro Tem and Chair of the Education and Economic Subcommittee of the House Appropriations Committee, Delegate Jones has become one of the General Assembly’s most vigorous and effective champions for young children, working families, and early childhood education.

The ceremony was held at Grey Rock Mansion in Pikesville and featured a short presentation with remarks from Dr. Nancy S. Grasmick, Board Member, Maryland Family Network and past Maryland State Superintendent of Schools, Margaret E. Williams, Executive Director, Maryland Family Network, and Del. Adrienne Jones. The Grasmick Leadership Award has been given annually since 2011. Past recipients have been Congressman Steny Hoyer, Sen. Barbara Mikulski, State Delegate Sheila Hixson, State Senators Nancy King and Richard Madaleno, and Dep. Assistant Secretary for Early Childhood Development, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Linda Smith.

Maryland Family Network ensures the state’s youngest children have strong families, quality early learning environments, and a champion for their interests.