Morgan professor among new members tasked with establishing policies for National Science Foundation


— Morgan State University’s Victor R. McCrary, Ph.D., has been appointed to the National Science Board (NSB). Dr. McCrary is in good company as one of four new board selections that includes: W. Kent Fuchs, president of the University of Florida; Emilio F. Moran, a John A. Hannah distinguished professor at Michigan State University’s Center for Global Change and Earth Observations; and Julia M. Phillips, director emeritus at Sandia National Laboratories.

The new members are appointed to six-year terms on the NSB. Each may be reappointed for a second six-year term.

“I am thrilled to welcome this diverse and accomplished group of individuals to the Board,” said Maria Zuber, NSB chair. “The breadth and variety of knowledge and expertise in this class is more than we could have asked for. I am confident that their collective expertise across the natural and social sciences, and their management experiences, will allow us to accomplish many great things.”

The four new appointees join a board of 25 members tasked with establishing National Science Foundation (NSF) policies that coincide with a framework set forth by the president and Congress and with promoting research and education in science and engineering. The members are drawn from industries and universities representing a variety of science and engineering disciplines. Dr. McCrary will be the only member affiliated with an HBCU or any other institution of higher education in Maryland.

“Congratulations to Dr. McCrary on being bestowed this great honor by our nation’s president. We are very proud of him and pleased about his selection and the positive attention it brings to this university,” said Morgan President David Wilson. “This appointment is a testament to his acumen in the field of research and development as well as the fine work he does on behalf of Morgan.”

Dr. McCrary is vice president for Morgan’s Division of Research and Economic Development. Before taking his position at Morgan, he was the business area executive for science and technology at The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory, managing technology investment strategies for more than $60 million in internal research and development projects targeting the areas of national defense and national security. Dr. McCrary was also a division chief at the National Institute of Standards and Technology, where he received the U.S. Department of Commerce’s Gold Medal for facilitating and developing the first global industry standard for e-books. He has published more than 60 articles and is a Fellow of the American Chemical Society.

“I am humbled by this honor, and I look forward to serving our nation,” said Dr. McCrary. “This appointment greatly increases the visibility for Morgan State University and the value proposition that other minority-serving research institutions across the country bring to the national discussion on science and science policy.”