Edwin T. Johnson appointed to Maryland Commission on African American History


— Governor Larry Hogan has appointed Edwin T. Johnson, Ph.D., to the Maryland Commission on African American History and Culture.

Dr. Johnson’s appointment was one of Governor Hogan’s 169 “Green Bag” appointments for over 65 different boards and commissions, which were submitted to the state Senate at the midpoint of the 2016 legislative session.

A senior coordinator for Student Disability Support Services at Morgan State University, Dr. Johnson has served Morgan in a variety of professional capacities, including as a faculty member, director of admissions, academic adviser, and assistant dean. Additionally, he teaches African American studies and history at the University of Maryland University College.

Dr. Johnson is a 1988 graduate of Crossland High School in Prince George’s County, and a 1992 graduate of Morgan. After earning a Master’s of Mass Communication from Towson University, he returned to Morgan to complete a second Master’s in African American Studies, as well as a doctorate in history.

Dr. Johnson is a Life Member of the Morgan State University National Alumni Association, a member of the National Eagle Scout Association, and a founder of Theta Mu Mu Chapter of the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.

The Maryland Commission on African American History and Culture is committed to discovering, documenting, preserving, collecting, and promoting Maryland’s African-American heritage. The commission also provides technical assistance to institutions and groups with similar objectives, and seeks to educate Maryland residents and visitors about the significance and impact of the African-American experience in Maryland.

The Governor’s Office of Community Initiatives is Governor Larry Hogan’s office to enhance and improve opportunities for Maryland residents. It oversees the Governor’s Office on Service and Volunteerism, Volunteer Maryland, community affairs and engagement within the executive branch of Maryland government, faith-based outreach, and the governor’s eight ethnic and cultural commissions.