HBCU News:S.C. State to Face Georgia in NCAA Women’s Tennis Championship


INDIANAPOLIS, May 2, 2017—South Carolina State will take on the University of Georgia on Saturday, May 13 in the first round of the 2017 NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Championship in Athens, Ga., as the 64-team was announced Tuesday afternoon on NCAA.com.

The Lady Bulldogs, which defeated Hampton 4-3 on April 22 to win the 2017 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) title, will be among four teams in Athens, along with the host Bulldogs, Oregon and North Carolina State. South Carolina State will face Georgia on Saturday at 12 p.m. – following the Oregon-N.C. State match at 9 a.m.

The two winners will meet in the second round on Sunday, May 14 at 2 p.m.

On top of hosting the first and second rounds, Georgia picked up the No. 5 overall seed in the tournament.

South Carolina State has won 12 of the last 13 MEAC titles in women’s tennis.