55 Coppin State student-athletes named to the MEAC 2015 Commissioner’s All-Academic Team


— Coppin State University had 55 student-athletes named to the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) 2015 Commissioner’s All-Academic Team.

Overall, 1,096 student-athletes were recognized from the conference’s 13 member institutions who achieved academic success during the 2014-15 academic school recognizing year. The team honors student-athletes, including sophomores to seniors, with a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better.

“I am excited to honor and recognize the 1,096 student-athletes who maintained a 3.0 or better grade point average during the 2014-15 academic year,” said MEAC commissioner Dennis E. Thomas. “I would like to congratulate the administrators, athletic academic support staff and personnel, coaches, and parents for their contributions to the academic success of these student-athletes.”

Listed below are Coppin State’s 2015 Commissioner’s All-Academic Award Winners:

WOMEN (29): Keena Samuels (WBB, Computer Science), Jordan Swails (WBB, Criminal Justice), Brionca Beard (WBO, Criminal Justice), Maribel Lovos (WBO, Criminal Justice), Kristen Sharp (WBO, Sports Management), Kache Woods (WBO, Biology), Samantha Denlinger (WSB, Biology), Shelby Mendoza (WSB, Marketing), Lauren Rogers (WSB, Education), Michele Saunders (WSB, Criminal Justice), Danielle Smith (WSB, Accounting), Candice Van Horn (WSB, Sports Management), Carentxa Goede (WTE, Biology), Miranda Taylor (WTE, Sports Management), Melissa Caddle-Hope (WTK, Criminal Justice), Deandra Daniel (WTK, Management), Alethia Edwards (WTK, Biology), Miriam Ekwuru (WTK, Biology), Kesha Medas-King (WTK, Biology), Jasmine Burton (WVB, Education), Kendra Ireigbe (WVB, Criminal Justice), Nicole Malave-Adams (WVB, Marketing), Cindy Okpegbue (WVB, Nursing), Gabrielle Otero (WVB, Education), Ariel Richard (WVB, Sports Management), Chelsee Sauni (WVB, Biology), Denali Sturgeon (WVB, History Education), Kandace Thomas (WVB, Psychology) and Ellena Torres (WVB, Accounting).

MEN (26): William Brown (MBA, Sports Management), Jonathan Calvin (MBA, Sports Management), Jhar Devilme (MBA, Sports Management), Jeffrey Fitch (MBA, Criminal Justice), Alejandro Hernandez (MBA, Management), John Kraft (MBA, History), Yahya Muhammad (MBA, Sports Management), Darien Percell (MBA, Interdisciplinary Studies), Nathan Pitts (MBA, Criminal Justice), Michael Wright (MBA, Sports Management), Taariq Cephas (MBB, Criminal Justice), Michael Oyefusi (MBB, Computer Science), Van Rolle (MBB, Sports Management), Sterling Smith (MBB, Criminal Justice), Reginald Robinson (MTE, Accounting), Thomas Patrick (MTE, Nursing), Anster Charles (MTK, Chemistry), Kester Chase (MTK, Sports Management), Haysean Cowie-Clark (MTK, Management), Jeremy Dorsey (MBA, Sports Management), Michael James (MTK, Sports Management), Spencer Johnson (MTK, Management), Mark London (MTK, Sports Management), Imhotep Simba (MTK, Global Studies), Rohan Stewart (MTK, Criminal Justice) and Kerrone White (MTK, Criminal Justice).

“We have been working aggressively as a team and a University to ensure the success of our student-athletes,” Coppin State Director of Athletics Derrick K. Ramsey said. “Having our student-athletes earn this type of recognition shines light on our entire University. We are fortunate for the support provided to athletics from our president Dr. Mortimer Neufville, provost Dr. Sadie Gregory and the deans. We’ve taken a holistic approach to ensure that not only are our students are great athletes, but scholars as well. I’ve stated for years when our athletes are given the opportunity and provided the resources, they can compete with anyone in the country. This merely demonstrates what playing on a level field can do.”