UBMC to hold first faith based candidate’s election forum

On Thursday, April 3, 2014, the United Baptist Missionary Convention (UBMC) and Auxiliaries of Maryland, Inc. will sponsor a candidate’s forum for member pastors seeking leadership positions in the faith group. In compliance with the recently adopted revisions of the UBMC Constitution and By-laws, this year will mark the first time since its inception that the Convention elections have been openly competitive.

A record crowd of several hundred interested spectators, representing pastors, officers and lay church members is expected to gather at the Wayland Baptist Church in West Baltimore to witness this historic event.

Attendees will have the opportunity to hear from candidates before the convening of the 88th Annual UBMC Convention during the week of May 18, 2014. In accordance with criteria spelled out in the Faith group’s constitution. Voting for new officers will occur prior to the closing session on Friday, May 23, 2014.

Currently, the focus of the election is on the two presidential candidates, Reverend Boyer G. Freeman, pastor of the New Saint Mark Baptist Church; and Reverend Cleveland T. A. Mason, 2nd pastor of the Perkins Square Baptist Church. They currently serve as the second and first vice presidents respectively.

There is also a great deal of interest in the outcome of the First Vice President position.

The three pastors vying for this position are Alvin Gwynn, Sr., Friendship Baptist Church; Donte’ L. Hickman, Sr., Southern Baptist Church; and Franklin Lance, Mt. Lebanon Baptist Church.

Pastors Kirk J. Jackson, New Mount Hebron Baptist Church and Mark Nolan, New Hope Baptist Church, Bel Air are competing for second vice president.

Pastors Dean A. Jones-Evans, United Missionary Baptist Church, Eastern Shore and Willie Mason, Second Baptist Church, Annapolis are competing for third vice president.

Both recording secretary nominee, Pastor Domanic A. Smith, Ezekiel Church and Ministries; and nominee for treasurer, Pastor Joel Small, First Baptist Church, Cherry Hill, are uncontested. Each of the nominees will be given time to share their vision for the future growth of the Convention. A question and answer session will close out the session.

Founded in 1926, the United Baptist Convention and Auxiliaries of Maryland, Inc. is presently under the leadership of outgoing president Reverend James B. Gray, Jr. pastor, Pleasant Zion Baptist Church in Dundalk, Maryland.